Agreements

Agreements that open courts to the public

Joint-use and operator agreements behind public access to courts: upcoming expiries first, then open-ended, then lapsed. Updated .

An agreement nearing its end is a chance to keep public access, or add pickleball to it. Every row links its source; the sources index lists everything else.

Download CSVDownload JSON

Master Facilities Use Agreement, with a John Adams Middle School agreement

Santa Monica, CA · John Adams Middle School

PartiesCity of Santa Monica and Santa Monica-Malibu Unified School District
AdoptedNot linked yet
TermNot linked yet
ExpiresJune 30, 2027 (as reported); Council voted 6-0 in Sep 2026 to negotiate a successor
Public accessSchool fields, gyms, play areas and outdoor courts after school hours (as reported)
StatusReported by local news; the agreement itself is not linked yet.
SourcesSanta Monica moves to preserve public access to school fields before 2027 deadline, Santa Monica Daily Press, Sep 14, 2026 News Saved copy

Joint use agreement, Canyon Hills High School (formerly Serra)

San Diego, CA

PartiesCity of San Diego and San Diego Unified School District
AdoptedSep 12, 2006
TermTo 2031
Expires2031
Public access6 tennis courts open to the public after school and on weekends, holidays and breaks
StatusCounted in San Diego's public tennis courts.
SourcesJoint use hours adjustment letter (tennis courts not affected), San Diego Unified School District, May 22, 2023 Official Saved copy
Joint use facilities tracking sheet, City of San Diego Parks and Recreation, Jan 7, 2026 Official Saved copy

Joint use agreement, Mission Bay High School tennis courts

San Diego, CA

PartiesCity of San Diego and San Diego Unified School District
AdoptedOrdinance O-2022-144, final passage July 29, 2022
Term25 years
ExpiresAbout 2047 (25 years from recording)
Public accessCity has sole use from 30 minutes after school to 30 minutes before school, plus weekends, holidays and non-school days; gate times blank ("TBD") in the signed copy
StatusNot counted until public hours are posted.
SourcesJoint use agreement, Mission Bay High School tennis courts, City of San Diego, 2022 Official Saved copy

Joint use agreement (district and city facilities)

Carlsbad, CA

PartiesCity of Carlsbad and Carlsbad Unified School District
AdoptedSchool board Nov 15, 2023; City Council agenda Dec 5, 2023 (Resolution 2023-280; Council adoption not yet confirmed online)
TermNot captured yet
ExpiresNot captured yet
Public accessDistrict facilities, including Carlsbad High School's tennis courts, open to the public 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. outside school hours and district reservations
StatusCounted: 9 Carlsbad High School tennis courts in Carlsbad's public tennis total.
SourcesJoint use agreement (Dec 5, 2023 City Council agenda packet; copy hosted by SDA Tennis Access), City of Carlsbad, Dec 5, 2023 Official Saved copy

Memorandum of understanding for cooperative joint use and improvement of recreation facilities (Resolution 27,452)

Burbank, CA

PartiesCity of Burbank and Burbank Unified School District
AdoptedApr 17, 2007, 5-0
TermNot stated
ExpiresNot stated
Public accessFields and stadiums at Jordan (now Dolores Huerta) Middle, Burroughs High and Burbank High; courts only through a fence replacement at Burroughs
StatusNo current court access agreement with the school district found.
SourcesStaff report, joint meeting, City of Burbank, City Clerk, Apr 17, 2007 Official Saved copy

Operator agreement, Burbank Tennis Center (Resolution 26,808)

Burbank, CA · Burbank Tennis Center

PartiesCity of Burbank and Steve Starleaf, Inc.
AdoptedOct 12, 2004, by the City Council, 5-0
Term60 months, plus one optional 5-year extension
ExpiresBy 2014 at the latest under its own terms; no later agreement found
Public accessOperation of the 12 courts; preferential use and a favored fee structure for Burbank residents
StatusCurrent agreement, fees and pickleball courts need a city source.
SourcesStaff report: agreement with Steve Starleaf, Inc. as operator of the Burbank Tennis Center, City of Burbank, City Clerk, Oct 12, 2004 Official Saved copy